Which and why? .270WSM .300WSM .338 Federal/Lapua

First answer a few questions? What does ethical hunting mean? I was in the military and some days shot so many 308 rounds that I was sick of shooting and later competitively shot larger calibers. I studied the anatomy, practiced for months, and perfected one rifle with one type of round, I had all my ballistic tables with me. so I could make that one perfect shot. I stated that I don't think that semi autos are accurate at 500 yards with 16 inch barrels.

I don't hunt game animals with semi-autos. high volume shooting. Pigs and Varmints is what they are good for.

About 30 years ago I went deer hunting with a co-worker. I didn't know that he was a spray and pray man with a browning 7 mag. semi. It was so disgusting what he did to a deer with 5 hits out of 8 fired from under 200 yards. The deer was balling gut shot and missing a front leg at the knee and still trying to get away. You might as well have thrown it in a garbage can because nothing was left with blown up intestines. I went over and shot it in the head to stop the balling. I was so F-ing ****ed that he was lucky to make it home that day. I never talked to him again
I have custom built 300 WSM AR 10 killed over 20 animals with it. Last 2 years it has killed 6 Oryx which IMO no other animal in the US will take a bullet like this animal. If you buddy shot a crappy AR or shot like crap that's on him. Don't lump all the AR's in one category when there are plenty of them can do as well as bolt guns. No everyone is Half MOA but all mine are MOA minimum but they are custom. Either way, its more than capable of hunting on the regular.

Yes, high quality AR-10's can do pretty good. I have two 24 inch match rifles with target 11 degree SS fluted that have 11 degree target crowns on the ends of the barrels. 8X32 with 60 mm objectives. I use them for long range PD and Pig hunting.