Which 700? NEWBIE help please!

98camaro28

I have been hunting for many years and have just not gotten into target shooting. I would eventually like to shoot out to 1000+. Right now I have a Marlin XL7 .270 I hunt with and a Savage .223 to mess around with, and would like to get a Remington 700 to start doung my long range practice with. I plan on eventually doing a custom build on it, but until I am adequate enough to shoot even a factory 700 good enough, Im gonna leave everything alone. I have a Vortex Viper, and 2 SS's (10x and 16x). Which model 700 should I go with? SPS varmint? SPS tactical? Which round? .300 WSM? .308? Any help is greatly appreciated. Just looking for what will give me the best out-of-the-box performance with great aftermarket support. I also plan to hunt whitetail out to about 400-500.

BTW, I was in the military and have been hunting for years. I just need some advise, as I have never been this involved.

A Savage 116 300 win mag. Stainless for all hunting conditions. Very versatile design. One of the most accurate out of the box. Good after market support.

I actually was having the same questions before and these guys gave me some good ideas. I was looking for a 7mm but im looking for an elk gun. here are 2 of my thread where they gave me some good tips

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f26/help-new-lr-rig-61167/

http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f26/sendero-starting-point-61404/