Where to start (I need to learn everything)

Tarheelpwr

Hi,

So, I'm just getting into gun, well tinkering anyway. I don't know much of anything, lol. I want to slowly grow my gunsmithing knowledge/skill to where I can do everything myself within reason.

Is there a good cache of these kind of resources? I looked at some of the online universities like Ashworth, but at $600+ I'm just not sure it's worth it. I'm hoping someone can point me to a place that:

1) Describes the different services and how/what they do.

i.e. glass bedding, pillar bedding, lapping lugs, etc etc

2) Describes how to perform the said items.

i.e. pref with pictures/videos

3) Lists tools & skills necessary.

If a comprehensive course like Ashworth college is worth it, let me know. I just presume there is a good resource out there somewhere.

Thanks,
TP

EDIT: I know there's lots you can search for online, but you never know the source. I know some people are GREAT resources, but lots of armchair warriors also make you think their Navy SEALs

Last edited:
One of the respected junior college gunsmith programs and machine shop classes at the local community college would be worth the money, the online university "gunsmith" courses I have my doubts about.

John Hinnant's "Complete Illustrated Guide to Precision Rifle Barrel Fitting" is a great resource as is the old(but still absolutely relevant) South Bend "How to Run a Lathe" book.

The gunsmithing forum at Benchrest Central is a good resource, lots of information from some very knowledgable and well respected gunsmiths(both amateur and professional) who are willing to share. There are several amateur machinist forums online that are a wealth of information also.