What's needed for reloading?

Chris89lx

Hello all.
I'm kind of new to the site. Been reading a lot but never posted.

I want to start collecting the equiptment required to load ammo for my 7mm Rem Mag.

I want to load the Berger 168 VLD's.

What is required and what is nice to have?

Any recomendations on primers and powder?

Hello all.
I'm kind of new to the site. Been reading a lot but never posted.

I want to start collecting the equiptment required to load ammo for my 7mm Rem Mag.

I want to load the Berger 168 VLD's.

What is required and what is nice to have?

Any recomendations on primers and powder?

> First thing first, get a good reloading manual. Read all of the warnings, cautions, Do's, and Dont's. Read the Why's and How's. Best investment, and insurance for you and your rifle. I have read two manuals, in 20 years of reloading. I use them all the time for reference. I'm still learning how to reload.

I second the idea of buying a reloading manual first. It is also VERY beneficial to watch someone reload some ammo if you have never done it before. I think it would be very difficult to reload ammo just by reading a book. It makes things alot easier and understandable if you actually see someone in action. It just helps put things together and understand the flow of the process.
I have a new 7mm Rem Mag myself and I am getting ready to start reloading for it. I have reloaded before, but I have never had my own equipment. I am going to let my wife by me some reloading equipment for Christmas this year. As far as powder etc, I went with H-1000, Sierra Matchkings 168gr., Winchester brass, and Federal Magnum rifle primers.

Any specific manual you recomend?

I will be loading along side my dad with his 7mm Rem Mag.

He hasn't loaded recently but did some a few (20ish) years back.

My brother will also be reloading for his 300.

The idea is to split the cost of the equiptment.

Here is my shortlist.

Calipers