What is the difference?

The Ackley improved has alot less body taper and the 40 deg shoulder which reduces bolt thrust under pressure , extends case life and less trimming due to less brass flow because of the steep shoulder and reduced body taper and also increases velocity because the internal capacity in increased.
I think that the 22-250 is one of the better cantidates for the Ackley improvment because it has so much body taper and steep shoulder , though it already pretty badly overbored the increased capacity realy bennifits the case with heavier bullet in longer barrels like 26-28 inches

Again I am very new to this. Do you have to rechamber your rifle or do anything special to it to make it shoot these Ackley rounds?

Yes, but when you rechamber you can still shoot factory rounds, and the brass comes out in the Ackley shape ready for hotter reloads.

Some smiths will not set the shoulder back when they recut the Ackley chamber adn if done improperly can cause serious headspace trouble and pressure problems when fireforming brass. Rechambering this way is fine so long as you understand the proper way to fire from the new cases and it will actualy give you a little more volume.
A true Ackley chamber causes a slight "crush fit" of factroy ammo, the bolt wil get slightly tight as the bolt closes , this allows you to shoot factory ammo without the trouble of having an excessive head space problem.

What kind of gain in FPS are you guys getting in this Ackley's compare to the regular cartridge, and usually what does it cost for a gunsmith to recamber a rifle.

I don't shoot a 22-250, but here is some info I found for you-
22-250 40 grain=4300 fps
22-250 AI 40 grain=4500+fps
22-250 50 grain=3800 fps
22-250 AI 50 grain=4100 fps
22-250 65 grain=3300 fps
22-250 AI 65 grain=3300 fps
22-250 80 grain=3350? (found these on reloadersnest.com)
22-250 AI 80 grain=3200? (don't ask me)

So it seems to ream it out to AI gains much more with lighter bullets.

Tyler