What is going on? COAL coming up short

pburton

OK, so I am new to long range shooting, hunting, and reloading. I have been hunting for over 30 years but never "long range" hunting. Over the last couple months I had a custom rifle built. I received the rifle back today. It looks great and is exactly what I was going for. It is a 7mm Rem mag built on a 700 action with a Bartlien barrel. Trued action and bolt lugs. I have never reloaded for any of my previous rifles. I always used factory ammo. Well with this custom build I decided to try to start reloading. Once I got my rifle back today I mounted the scope and checked for Case over all length with the Frankford COAL kit that I have. I followed the direction exactly and came up with a COAL of 3.135 after several checks and several bullet types. That is a considerable amount short of what my reloading books say it should be. Am I doing something wrong or did the smith that built this rifle not do something right? Even factory ammo is longer than this. I am completely confused. Now I did chamber a couple of factory rounds and they chamber fine. That is two totally different rounds with different OAL. Should I just try and see how this works out or should I take this back to the smith and make him fix it? My hope was to load 168gr Hunting VLD's.

The Frankford COAL kit appears to be a plastic *** to me.
Did you try seating a bullet long with light neck tension, a little lube on the bullet nose, extracting the round, and measuring COAL?
Probably more accurate than what you're using.

That is what I thought. Although it was recommended to me by a couple of other members on here. I agree that it truly does seem like a ***. Like I said earlier I am a rookie to reloading. Thanks for the other options. I will see how that turns out..

Mikecr,