Weaver/ Picatinny Ruger M77 Mount???

evans1010

The course of my project changed a bit but I have a 6.5CM Ruger M77 Predator on the way along with a standard fill McMillan Game Scout to drop it in to. I know there is the Weigand base that mounts to the Ruger rail as well as the option of drill and tapping for one of many bases on the market. Any opinions on the better option or other choices that I'm missing? The reason for the question is probably a bit illogical but I have a strong preference for rings that mount this way and I already have the 30mm rings I will need as well.

The Weigand working loose is my fear but I have no first hand experience, that said it is simpler than getting it drilled.

Gun will be used for informal LR steel, deer, and maybe the occasional PRS match that I have no intention of performing well in. If it matters the scope will be a 4.5-27 Athlon Midas BTR.

Thanks,
Nick

Last edited:
The course of my project changed a bit but I have a 6.5CM Ruger M77 Predator on the way along with a standard fill McMillan Game Scout to drop it in to. I know there is the Weigand base that mounts to the Ruger rail as well as the option of drill and tapping for one of many bases on the market. Any opinions on the better option or other choices that I'm missing? The reason for the question is probably a bit illogical but I have a strong preference for rings that mount this way and I already have the 30mm rings I will need as well.

The Weigand working loose is my fear but I have no first hand experience, that said it is simpler than getting it drilled.

Gun will be used for informal LR steel, deer, and maybe the occasional PRS match that I have no intention of performing well in. If it matters the scope will be a 4.5-27 Athlon Midas BTR.

Thanks,
Nick

Drilled and tap is best. I have been monitoring the weigh-a-tinny for a while now hoping they'll make one rated for .338 Win Mag.