Weatherby Mark V ?'s

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by Big_Tex22, Nov 13, 2010.

1. Big_Tex22

Big_Tex22 Active Member

I have a buddy that wants to trade his mark 5 in 7 rem mag for one of my shotguns. The rifle is nice, beautiful stock, bolt face and barrell seem like it hasn't been shot much. Took it to the range and it shoots great, especially well for the cheap scope he has on it and cheap factory ammo. Think I could easily shrink down groups and stretch this gun out to be a good long range thumper with some load tuning and new glass.

Thing is I have zero experience with weatherby rifles, they always look nice on the shelf at the gun shop but the price tag seems to scare me and everyone I know away from them. Do they keep their trade value, and when I get ready to rebarrel is the action going to be a good one to throw a new tube on?

Anyway, trading an 1100 for it that I shoot once a year on opening day of dove season, and have other spray guns that I can miss with just as easy!

Thanks

2. Trickymissfit

Trickymissfit Well-Known Member

make the trade, and never look back
    gary

3. J E Custom

J E Custom Well-Known Member

+1
    They are great rifles and easy to customize.

Also it is worth more than the 1100.

J E CUSTOM

4. angus-5024

angus-5024 Well-Known Member

they ae the strongest non-custom action out there. 60* bolt throw, very solid, and in my experience very smooth. only downer is availibility of drop-in stocks. Do it before he changes his mind.

5. Redtail204

Redtail204 Active Member

Don't even think about it... a Rem 1100 for a WBY Mark V???? ...Go on take the rifle and run!!!!

6. Big_Tex22

Big_Tex22 Active Member