Wanting some opinions

SCdeerhunter

Ok, new guy here. I've been reading on here for a while now and finally joined. Wanted to get the opinion of guys with a lot more experience than I have. Been hunting and shooting for 20+ years so have a decent knowledge base, but this is my first attempt at long range. Want a rifle for deer and some long range shooting (600 yards- long range for me haha). So I've settled in a Remington Sendero in 25-06. For optics I'm thinking leupold vx3i 4.5x14x40 with side focus and a 30mm tube. Plan on mounting it all with Talley one piece mounts. I'm on a pretty tight budget so before I pull the trigger on all this I wanted to get you guys opinion on it to make sure I'm not missing anything or making a bad decision equipment wise. Thanks in advance.

SC

For what you want to do I'd consider other equipment. First I'd step up to 7mm or at least 6.5mm so you can use some of the really great long range bullets available in those calibers. Also, get 1 in 8 twist rifling so you can use those bullets. I'd also up the top end magnification on your scope. If you want to hit small you have to aim small. 14 power doesn't cut it at 600 yards. I'd look at some of the 6X - 24X scopes. The higher power also helps greatly in load development. I'd also change rifle brands. I'd go with Savage as they tend to be the most accurate factory rifle right out of the box and will let you avoid paying more money to fix the trigger on the Rem. Also if later on you want to try a different chambering you can unscrew the Savage barrel and put on a different one yourself. I've got 6 Savages and I mix and match parts all the time. Good luck with whatever you decide to get.