Want to build a 6.5x284 Norma

scoutm

Total newbie here so please forgive what will more than likely be very fundemental questions.

I need to find a donor rifle that I can start with. I'm assuming that a LA would be the best choice but not sure. I also don't know if I should be looking for a magnum such as a 7mm mag or standard non-magnum action.

Any and all advice is appreciated. Thanks, in advance.

I prefer the long action for the 6.5-284. You want a standard bolt face not the magnum. So 25-06, 270, 280, 30-06, 35 Whelen are the donors you are looking for.

Speaking from experience, you do NOT want a short action for a 6.5x284. It needs a standard LA.

Savage has a few different offerings in 6.5x284 that will serve your purpose. They offer it in a short action single shot target action, and a couple different models in long action hunting models. Might be worth a look. I really enjoy shooting my Savage rifles.

Tank

Savage has a few different offerings in 6.5x284 that will serve your purpose. They offer it in a short action single shot target action, and a couple different models in long action hunting models. Might be worth a look. I really enjoy shooting my Savage rifles.

Tank

Thanks. I hadn't considered Savage but i will take a look.

I have a Kimber 8400 (Hate the rifle) like the action was thinking of using it as a donor. Also considering both Rem 700 and a pre-64 (non-collectible condition) a buddy might be willing to part with.

Any suggestions on actions would be much appreciated. Made the decisions on all other components - at least I hope I have. One could go crazy wilth all the choices to be made.

Thanks.

You can buy a factory Savage and start shooting.

Or, you can buy a Savage donor and get a pre-chambered barrel and build it yourself.

Or, you'll need to find a smith that'll work on whatever donor action you come up with. Many smiths will only work on 700's. ...but, don't let that discourage you. Model 70 and Kimber are great actions.