Vortex Viper Turret

dcshorthairs

Guys-
Im a newbie to the forum but have been behind the scenes for a while. Figured this would be a good topic for my first post.

I was wondering if anyone has the turrets installed on their vortex scope. I have a viper 6.5-20X44 that I really like. Its sitting on my 22-250 varmit rifle. Im shooting the Winchester Supreme 55 grain SBT and my gun loves them. If anyone has used them, Im trying to find out how they like the addition of the turret and if it has improved their shooting ability past 600 yards. My main goal with this gun is a deer/antelope gun with an occasional yote or two.

My dad has a 7mag remmy with a leupold CDS with the turret and I love shooting it. Even up close at 2 or 300 yards, just dial in the turret and you are good to go.

Thanks for any info you guys might have about the vortex situation

gun)

Did I understand you correctly? You want to use a ballistic turret on a 22-250 for deer and antelope past 600 yards? I would prefer that rifle for closer distances. The path of a 55 gr past 600 yards is dropping pretty rapidly. Less than perfect placement with the small bullet could result in less than perfect terminal performance. I limit my use of ballistic turrets to 600 or so even with larger rifles. This is due to the ever growing error to elevation from changes in altitude and ambient temperatures.

dcshorthairs, welcome to the forum, glad to see you joining in the discussions.

Jeff

Did I understand you correctly? You want to use a ballistic turret on a 22-250 for deer and antelope past 600 yards? I would prefer that rifle for closer distances. The path of a 55 gr past 600 yards is dropping pretty rapidly. Less than perfect placement with the small bullet could result in less than perfect terminal performance. I limit my use of ballistic turrets to 600 or so even with larger rifles. This is due to the ever growing error to elevation from changes in altitude and ambient temperatures.

Jeff