Very first ladder test, take a look.

[ QUOTE ]
Roy,

I say this because if you do alter the powder charge to tighten a proven OCW load, you'll move to the edge of the "sweet spot" and be forever "walking the tightrope" to accuracy.

[/ QUOTE ]

Dan,

I appreciate your comprehensive response.

I snipped in the quote what 'rang a bell' as I studied your response. You never know when you're gonna strike a chord!

"walking the tightrope" is OK but I fall off way too often. What I mean is that accuracy will be steady state for a period of time, then flat fall apart. 1/4 MOA shooting jumps to 1.5 MOA then I'm
332scratch.gif
After scratching the knoggin a bit I do some trouble shooting and sooner than later I end up back where I was which is with the same exact load and great accuracy.

It may be that I have the load tuned to exactly for a certain set of environmental conditions, as in the day that I worked it up. Change the day, change the conditions, off the tight rope ya fall....

Am visiting family in Seattle this weekend but will do your process in a week or so. I'll learn a bit more than I do now.

I wonder if OCW and OCD are compatible /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Thanks for the discussion.

Roy

"I wonder if OCW and OCD are compatible."

Good one. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

Let me know how things go.

Dan

There is a fundamental lack of understanding of the ladder/audette method here and its supposed problems.

It is not just firing a ladder rapid fire in windy conditions and looking for POI. To do it correctly, basic common sense has to apply. You have to use the chrono results also. You will find that the POI clusters and the MV clusters are usually on the same bullets.

Second it is not about getting "MOA results under ideal conditions". With a match grade barrel and decent bench techiques, you can almost load the bullets backwards and use a powder dipper and get that.