Undersize bullets

kentucky37

I expect this doesn't really matter, but it is kinda bugging me. I am new to reloading and am working up a load for a 270Win with Nosler 140g Accubonds. I am using a neck expander mandrel and the imperial dry lube, which has got me thinking and reading this forum about neck tension. For some reason I measured some of the Accubonds with my calipers and kept getting .276. (I don't own a micrometer.) I thought my calipers must be off by .001, but I checked with Mitutoyo gage block, and they are right on the money. I measured my Bergers and Speers--both .277. I measured a few each of Nosler .243 bullets in 55g, 58g, and 90g, and two batches showed .242 and one .2425. I measured .243 Bergers and they were .243. Working up the load will tell me everything I need to know practically, but I am curious--is there any reason that I might want to know if a bullet runs .001 undersize? Or, though my results seem quite consistent, am I getting bad measurements for some reason that I can't see?

Interesting.... I have never measured them until now. My 308 Noslers are .307 and my Hornadys are .3075. I always wondered why when I loaded a 155 AMAX with 1 grain more powder than my 165 Ballistic tip I would still have lower muzzle velocity. More powder and a lighter bullet generally equal higher velocity. I also get much less copper fouling from the Noslers which supports this as well. Maybe the extra friction??
You are correct that it doesn't matter. Don't let it bother you. The Noslers shoot exceptionally well so I am quite certain you will find a load that works for you rifle.
Good luck!

Your barrel is around 6 thousandths less than your .276 bullets so You will be fine to use them and they should work fine.