Trying to understand my jump and minimum seating depth

aussiepaul

Hi all, I'm new to reloading and have come across an issue that I would appreciate some advice on. I measured my cartridge base to Ogive to determine how high to seat my projectiles and realized I have a large jump. I have a Mossberg MVP 5.56 Nato, and I'm shooting .223 brass and shot around 1500 rounds through the rifle. I have been shooting Blitzkings 55gr, so I have heaps of once-fired ADI brass that I will be using. The issue is I used a Hornady OAL Gauge with the full-sized ADI brass (measured 1.750") with using a Hornady ELD-Match 52gr projectile. This measure to 1.988", but that means the projectile only is sitting in the case by 0.166 without factoring for any setback. I thought something was wrong, so I did the Alex Wheeler method and got pretty much the same result. Even a 20 thou setback means the projectile is only sitting in the case by 0.188 thou as the projectile is only 0.802 long. I spoke with a guy down at my local gun store, and he said to set it back enough, so it fits in my magazine, but I bench rest, so I am happy loading the ammo one at a time directly into the chamber. My question is compared to a blitzking, the difference in the CBTO is massive, the blitzking CBTO is 1.836" compared to my rifle, which is 1.988" but factor for a 20 thou setback and call it 1.968", this is still a difference of 0.132". Is this jump too long, and why is it so long? Is it a quality issue? And what would be the minimum seating depth for the 52 gr?

What your finding is quite common in an off the shelf rifle. I usually like to keep one caliber,.224 in your case, of bullet in the neck. Also know that a lot of precision rifle competitors are finding that great accuracy can be found quite a ways off the lands. Granted these guys shoot a lot of rounds but it is a very interesting theory.