Total novice seeking help!

junkilo

Been lurking for months and am finally breaking into hunting after never doing any growing up. Its tough without a mentor, and I've found that most folks don't like having to drag a newb into the field.

I finally scared up my first invite from a very experienced hunter to go black bear hunting in California. I'm not a stranger to guns and shooting but have no idea how to outfit.

Apart from guns and calibers, what do you guys bring into the field when packing in for a night in the field versus day trips?

How do you guys wear your sidearms when in the field? do you guys pack chest rigs or tactical vests that allow you to get things like a dump pouch, sidearm or clips on your chest? drop loads? hip holsters?

Apart from not scaring my companions with my in-experience, my only goal is be comfortable in the field and be able to get off rounds effectively if stuff goes south. Thanks for the help.

Let's see if I can address a couple of your concerns.

1. The night in the field. Are you guys backpacking in and setting up a camp, then hunting from that camp? If so, no big deal, just treat it like a backpacking trip. If there's two of us going, one will carry the tent, the other the stove and fuel. We split the food & water, and keep it as light as possible. Everybody brings their own clothing & personal gear. Again, keep it as light as possible.

If I'm going alone, I may leave the tent behind and just bring a gore-tex bivvy bag or a small tarp to rig over my sleeping bag. Again, a small white-gas backpacking stove is nice, but yeah, a guy can get by with cold chow. Ugh. I'll generally carry the backpacking stove. Hot coffee or a cup of hot soup is very nice in the field.

Backpacking camp with tent - solo hunting trip in the Cascades, Sept 2009:
IMG_2015.jpg

Backpacking camp without tent - solo hunting trip in the Cascades, Sept 2008:
697d9d0b.jpg