Top Wyoming Units

buzz4me2

I'm a non resident and have built up 5 preference points for Wyoming. I was thinking of applying in Unit 61 (Red Desert) to get a shot at a above average antelope. I've never hunted goats before so it should be a fun time.

Any suggestions on other units to look at would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

It looks as though only 38% drew 61 with 5pts last year in the regular nr points draw.

Looking at 64, 47% drew with 5pts last year in the regular nr points draw. Huntn fool has it as #1 pick, with 68, 61, 58, and 57 in order, for the top 5. I think they pick alot of their unit by draw odds, so I would talk with people who have been there first.

FYI- You have realy good odds in the special draw with 5 pts.

Way too many people are putting in for the units that Eastmans and Huntin Fool put in their magazines. They, especially Eastmans, are mostly going on tough drawing odds when there are above average bucks in pretty much every unit if a person has the time and knows how to judge them. I would never buy the number of points a lot of people are buying for antelope or deer as IMHO it's a waste of money. 2-3 PPs will get you great antelope units where you can shoot an 80" buck if you have a week or more to look a bunch over and I'm talking public land if you do your homework.

Buzz4me2---PM me if you want a good hunt for an 80" buck and would want to party up to hunt the unit I hunt that is taking 3PPs right now. I'll either hunt with you and show you the unit or you can hunt by yourself with the maps I will mark to show you right where to go. I have 1 PP and would like to hunt it again this year. I took a 14 1/2" 76" goat in 2009 with just a few days hunting at the end of the season before I went on my mulie hunt and all was on BLM land.