Top 5 scopes if money was no object

CJD

For overall use - bear, blacktail, mule, moose and target if possible over 400 yards. I may be asking an obnoxious question as I am new to rifle shooting. Thanks for the info.

CJD

North Carolina

For overall use - bear, blacktail, mule, moose and target if possible over 400 yards. I may be asking an obnoxious question as I am new to rifle shooting. Thanks for the info.

CJD

North Carolina

All that stuff would be hard to do with 1 scope.

The bear hunting thing (at least the way I've hunted bear) usually works best with a 1-something. I love the Swarovski 1-6 for that.

For other hunting non dangerous game/general shooting....you can answer that question in a lot of different ways.

1. Do you want a traditional hunting style scope or something in the tactical style.
2. FFP or SFP

Traditional Hunting (if money was no object)
Swarovski Z6 2.5-15x56 with the BT and 4W reticle. In my opinion this magnification range is well suited to cover just about anything you want to do. It's a low light beast.

If weight is an issue then I would go Z5 either 3.5-18 or 5-25.....whichever mag range fit what you wanted it to fit the best.

Tactical Style
FFP.....Kahles
SFP....Nightforce ATACR

I have yet to find the perfect scope to do everything.

Thanks fellas -

What is FFP and SFP - am thinking tactical and any thoughts about reticles?

CJD

Thanks fellas -

What is FFP and SFP - am thinking tactical and any thoughts about reticles?

CJD

FFP= Front Focal Plane
SFP= Second Focal Plane

I prefer reticles that are broken down in .2 mil. 1/2 mil break down isn't horrible and I can work with it.

Big thing is to make sure if the reticle is in a certain measurement, the turrets should match. This is not always the case with all tactical scopes. I would call someone who specializes in optics and really understands what they are talking about. This is who i recommend: