To mildot or not to mildot...?

Archie

Hi all,

Well this will be hopefuuly my first of many post on this site... so far I like what I see! Here is where I'm at so far...

I've just bought a new Remington 700 XCR Longrange in 308 and am yet to get myself a good scope for this rifle. I'll be mainly hunting with this weapon but at some stage I'm thinking of heading to the US for a course or two in long range shooting -that'll be a thread in itself at a later date- so I am in a query as to just what scope to put on this baby of mine?

A bit of background history I guess is needed here on me. I am mostly a bowhunter and do all my hunting (up till now) with a longbow & or recurve. My background is an Infantry/recon grunt and I spent some time working alongside our snipers as the two trades work hand in hand in the field. I've always had a spark in my eye for longrange shooting and this 700 will quell some of that hunger. I like the quote "Beware of the man with only one Rifle..." that being me...I hope.

At this stage I'm looking at the Nightforce range as well as Leupold. It's what reticle patten will suit me best is the problem.

Anyhow... enough of me as they say... a penny for your thoughts please.

Regards from aussie,

ak.

Hi Archie,

Welcome aboard mate, glad to have you!

You will learn a lot here - read some (sorry - ALL :cool:) of the articles and have a good time.

One thing I learned fairly quickly is my expectations were high and this meant dollars when it comes to equipment. Now, here is the best advice I can give a new long range shooter: "Save, Save, Save and make only one good/well researched purchase for each bit of equipment for your kit."

As to what scope you should get is a very big topic and sometimes somewhat biased towards your own goals and desires, then later it can be turned into an 'upgrade' war as you will always see something new that comes out of R&D.