Thoughts on the Winchester Mod 70's

pburton

I am new to this forum and have a question for you. I've been hunting and shooting for over 30 years. Recently I decided that I want a 7mm Rem Mag. I have not purchased a rifle in years. After looking around, I have found that most of the new rifles feel very cheap to me. The workmanship is just not there. Unless you want to spend a lot of money. A friend of mine has a Winchester Mod 70 that he wants to sell. He says that his dad bought it in the late 70's or early 80's . It is in near perfect condition with a low round count through it.. My question is What are peoples thoughts on this rifle? I have always been a remington guy and have no experience with Winchester. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I have Mod 70 chambered in 270 from that general time frame, though from your description, mine has seen a lot more use. All I've done with it is bed the action and clean, and grease the trigger assembly. It's the rifle I grab when I get serious about putting meat in the freezer. The rifle fits me well points naturally, 2 1/2lb trigger pull, and it always seems to say "I'm a hunting rifle no frills just killing animals is what I do" which it does well. gun)

I have a 1967 Mod 70 7 MAG 26 " barrel its a real tackdriver, Have 1970 Mod 70 308 HS Precision stock ,Both are great guns that are shot at least once or twice a month haven't had any trouble with either,I have a considerable number of bolt action rifles Browning, Remington, Weatherby and out of all I grab the the 308 most of the time for whitetails. I would think if its reasonable ,bed the action, float the barrel, and have the trigger adjusted to your taste and your'e good to go! Just my 2cents, -Barry