thought's on building a custom 300 rum barrel ?

magnum-tim

thought\'s on building a custom 300 rum barrel ?

Hello,
I'm new to the big boy's. I just rebarreled a 204ruger with a 1.055 diameter 28" 1-11 twist,3groove and and cut my groups by 2/3 just in the break in.
So now I'm looking to rebarrel my savage 300 rum with a custom barrel and was wondering what changes to make as in twist-rate,number of grooves and in lenght to get the most out of it.I was thinking a 1.120 straight cylinder 1in11 twist 3 groove 32" with a JP Howitzer muzzle brake.It will be for paper punching and very little tripod hunting.bullet weight I'm was thinking 168gr up to 240gr just for B.C. still learning.So I'm looking to you fellows (experts to me) to guide me down this new path.If you will.Please.

thanks timmy

Re: thought\'s on building a custom 300 rum barrel ?

Since a rifle's accuracy may be limited by its weakest link, I'd consider blueprinting the action and properly bedding the action when upgrading to a match quality barrel.

That's assuming that the stock is rigid enough to be a good platform for a build.

[ QUOTE ]
Hello,
I'm new to the big boy's. I just rebarreled a 204ruger with a 1.055 diameter 28" 1-11 twist,3groove and and cut my groups by 2/3 just in the break in.
So now I'm looking to rebarrel my savage 300 rum with a custom barrel and was wondering what changes to make as in twist-rate,number of grooves and in lenght to get the most out of it.I was thinking a 1.120 straight cylinder 1in11 twist 3 groove 32" with a JP Howitzer muzzle brake.It will be for paper punching and very little tripod hunting.bullet weight I'm was thinking 168gr up to 240gr just for B.C. still learning.So I'm looking to you fellows (experts to me) to guide me down this new path.If you will.Please.

thanks timmy

[/ QUOTE ]