Teaching An Old Dog New Coyote Hunting Tricks By Justin Shireman

Justin, I read where you live just south of OKC. I live in Norman, on the east side of town. I have been hunting coyotes off and on for about 10 years. Not too succesful but it's fun. I mainly hunt with primitive bows and arrows for deer and also pistols, single shot.
I have been hunting some coyotes with my pistols and a couple so far last year. I have about 600 acres in NW OK, north of Clinton about 2.5 hrs from Norman. It is nothing but canyons and hills that are great to shoot from. I saw a couple of large coyotes during deer last fall and this spring while turkey hunting. If you ever want to try that place and help a guy learn a few tricks let me know. All I have used is a couple of mouth calls. I have worked for OGE for 36 years and have some other places we could hit also that I have acquired over the years building power lines.

Mike Hames

sounds like we need to hook up this fall. as we get closer to the cooler weather, shoot me a pm or something and maybe we can get a gameplan together via phone

Justin, enjoyed the article. I got my BS in biology at probably the same place you did. I grew up at Custer City and have hunted from the Gould area up to the Seiling and Oakwood area. Man I am seeing tons this year. I love deer season but am looking forward to January and hitting the calls. I have had to show great restraint this season and have had up to 5 pass me in one evening, and one really nice bobcat that evening too. I moved back to Clinton to practice after the Med Center in Nebraska(great hunting and fishing up there too). Any way I appreciate the article, I don't feel like it but I might be an old dog myself, but they keep teaching me new tricks just like you said. Hope you all have a great season. I have a son in law that we are going to get him started on the coyotes this season so that is just an added bonus too(might get to shop for another rifle with his money, LOL ).