Target view at long distances

ndbwhunter

I am kind of new to all of this, so hopefully someone can help me out! I am having trouble finding the shots on target at long distances. I am using a Swarovski 20-60 x 65mm spotting scope, so the optics should be good enough. What should I be using for a target? I have been shooting a plywood target that is painted black and orange. What kind of target could I use to get a better view of hits? Would a metal target painted white give me a better idea of where i'm hitting? Thanks

500 on paper after that your guessing. Metal would give a reliable response as to a hit on target. A spotter in conjunction with the shot would be the ideal way to go.

A suspended steel target painted white seems to be the prefered meathod.
You can spot hits by seeing movement upon impact
by seeing impact zone-bullet splatter on white painted steel is way easier to see than a small hole in plywood.
and finally, depending on hearing protection, theres the audible ''clank'' sound.
Plus the suspended taeget tends to gobble up alot of bullet energy vs. a ridged steel target, so (depending on shot placement) translates into a more effective way of deflecting bullets-whats left of them- downward in a more predictable safe direction.
Thats my thoughts annyway.

It's funny that you mention the bullets, and "whats left of them". I was shooting 1000 yards on Saturday, and happened to find 3 of the bullets in the back stop. I'm shooting a 150 grain hornady interbond, and all three bullets retained nearly 94% of their weight. I thought that was rather interesting.

I like the idea of the suspended steel target. How big should I make it while still keeping it mobile? Remember i'm a newbie and i'm not that great (especially with the wind) of a shot at long distances yet. Would a 24" disc cut from a 3/8" plate be overkill?