Swift Scirocco and M14

Chuk4blast

Anyone use a Swift Scirocco 168-gr in M14 for hunting , just curious on anyone's experience or knowledge thereof, I'm trying something new. Thanks

I don't know if this helps, but I have a 24 in AR10. I worked up some loads with 168 Berger classic hunters. G1 BC of .496 I bought 500 back when Midway sold them for about 33 cents each. They are quality hunting rounds.

I did a bunch of chrono/bench time and settled in on Ramshot Big Game powder and 2720 fps.

I use commercial cases for the extra powder volume. I got away from mil brass because I would follow a reloading data and end up popping primers from time to time. I also had these problems using the listed magnum primers.

So I only use large rifle standard, commercial cases, and neck turn when required.

I've been reloading for the M1A rifles for several decades and the most versatile powder I've found is IMR 3031, it's a good powder to start with and use as a base to compare against.

I assume you're referring to the 165 gr Swift Scirocco since they don't list a 168 gr bullet.

A good starting starting load would be;
Case trim to length of 2.006"
Cartridge overall length of 2.80"
From 38 to 41.5 grains of IMR 3031

Another powder that will work well is W748
From 40.0 to 43.0 grains would be a reasonable range of powder charges.

As always, start low and work up in powder charges, you'll know if you're too low with the M1A because the system won't cycle.

Last edited:
look at https://www.hodgdonreloading.com/data/rifle I've always stayed away from fast from fast for the caliber powders like 3031. You can see the the pressure is really high compared to say a modern powder like CFE 223 to get the same FPS. The copper foul reducer powders really do work!

I would rather burn more powder at a lower pressure to get the same velocity.