Swarovski 1500 Laser Rangefinder and the Leica 1200

Ian M

I posted this on another forum, thought you guys might also find it interesting.
"I have been using both the Leica 1200 and Swarovski for several months now. Here are some notes:
.. Optics (resolution, brightness)
Although the Leica is very good, in the opinion of several testers the Swarovski is clearly superior. The larger eyepiece results in a bigger picture. This eyepiece is also faster to use and acquire. Resolution and brightness are exceptional for a laser unit.
.. Ergonomics
The Swarovski's "send" button is much easier to acquire and use. The Leica button is small and not ideally located. Swarovski's button is directly under the user's initial two fingers when the unit is held with the right hand. In addition the body shape of the Swarovski is easier to hold steady. Swarovski's larger eyepiece is easier to focus. I also prefer the moveable eyepiece cover for glasses/non-glasses users. Leica uses a folding rubber ring, slower to deploy, looks more fragile.
.. Accessories
Swarovski holster works perfectly and also provides excellent protection for the front lenses when not fitted on the users belt. Shoulder strap is excellent quality and comfortable but unnecessary if you are using the holster on your belt. Swarovski can easily be mounted on tripods or window mounts. Leica requires an optional carry case with a screw mount receptacle. Leica's cloth case fits reasonably well but many cases that I have examined have an identical stitching flaw resulting in a separation at the seams at the rounded bottom corners. Leica does not have accommodation for shoulder straps, only a wrist strap which is supplied.
.. Aiming Reticle