Surgeon Action Bolt Stop

rm76

Guys, I have a Surgeon repeater action coming and understand it will come dissembled. I have no experience with a side-mounted bolt stop and cannot seem to find a picture or instructions of how that piece is installed. Will it be obvious once I get the action as to how it goes together, or like many parts, is there a particular way (or order) that it needs to be assembled? Any comments from those that have experience with the Surgeon? Thanks.

The Surgeon is easy to assemble, so long as you have the right tools.

I have built a couple of rifles on Surgeon S/A and am ongoing a build on a XL at the moment.

You must remember that the action comes in the white and will need coating of some kind before final assembly of componants (parkerising, blueing, duracoat, krylon etc etc etc)

Once its coated, assemble componant parts, but not before.

My guess is you may be having the barrel assembled by gunsmith and completing the rest of the build yourself?

Anyway, the bolt stop will be in a small bag with the relevant componants - spring, stop and roll pin.

My advice if you do it yourself is insert pin from underneath, then if you slip with your punch and hammer the ding wont be seen.

Here is one I made earlier:

DSCN1208.jpg

Thanks for the picture! That explains everything. Looks like it is really straight forward and assembly should not be a problem. Good advice about insertion of the pin from below! Yeah, I am aware that it will need to be coated before assembly. Am undecided as to what type of finish though. Will be going with just a matte black -- you have any suggestions as to what works best in your opinion? With the close tolerances of the Surgeon, what parts should not be coated?

Very nice build!! What trigger is that?

Thanks again for the pic!

I get most of my rifles Duracoated, by a guy who has been trained by Lauer (makers of Duracoat)