Strelok pro data

Jayjoe

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
14
Location
canada
Hey guys need some help if possible. Today I punched 450 yards into Strelok and fired 2 shots with my 6 dasher. The come up's were only off by an inch high at 450 yards. My scope is zeroed at 100 yards dead on and pretty sure my entered data is correct into the App.
The scope has target turrets and my question is in order to drop the inch that I need would I tweak the velocity or could i just change my 100 yard zero to one click lower at 100 yards and re zero my turret. In my mind re zeroing one click lower at 100 would get me the inch i need at 450 yards. Strelok says 6.7 MOA up at 450 but looks like i need 6.5 to be dead on. Hope this makes sense as I am new to using ballistic calculators. Thanks.
 

Jayjoe

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
14
Location
canada
I usually tweak the BC or velocity on strelok to get it to match real world findings.
Thanks. I just tweaked the velocity on the App and had to enter 3280 fps instead of 3250 to get 6.5 MOA. That should be close to dead on at 450 yards. Ill try tomorrow. Funny thing is when i enter my actual chronographed velocity of 3226 fps the come up's are a ways off. No idea why. So is tweaking the velocity better or tweaking the BC?
 

Steves1911

Active Member
Joined
Feb 1, 2020
Messages
33
Location
Hedgesville, WV
I have played around with both doesnt seem to make a difference. The best accuracy for the app I've found is figure out your real world dope @ 1000yds then tweak parameters to match that. From there the app is on from 0-1000.
 

ButterBean

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
1,951
Location
West Terre Haute Indiana
I have played around with both doesnt seem to make a difference. The best accuracy for the app I've found is figure out your real world dope @ 1000yds then tweak parameters to match that. From there the app is on from 0-1000.
That's all well and fine but most folks don't have access to a thousand yard range
 

Jayjoe

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
14
Location
canada
So if dead on at 450 using the App would I not be close enough for minute of Coyote at say 800 ish yards providing accurate data was entered ?
 

Rips

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2013
Messages
4
I’d tweak the velocity over the bc. That’s what I do to get a match but sometimes you may need to compromise a little to get as near as dam it to match your bullet curve.
lots of variables can shift a bullet 1” at 450 yards, if your just an inch off target at that distance I’d call that bang on!
That’s less than .25 Moa - a lot of shooters and their rifles would struggle to get this accuracy at 100 yards!
Unless your into long range rat shooting I’d stick with that and see how accurate your drops are further out to get a true representation of the apps accuracy before deciding to tweak it,
Certainly sounds good so far! 👍
 

Jayjoe

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
14
Location
canada
Yes maybe I am being too picky but one of my favourite targets at long range are magpies. They are tough to hit to say the least. That’s why I was worried about being bang on but you’re right too many variables could send that bullet an inch any which way. I just got back from the bush and set a 1 L water bottle up at 568 yards dialled in the MOA and nailed it first shot. This StrelokPro is accurate for sure. So is a 6 dasher lol.I should mention absolutely dead calm conditions with almost zero wind. When the wind picks up I have problems. Not very good at reading the wind.
 
Last edited:

Cornholeo

Active Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2015
Messages
36
Location
NE Florida
I have been using Strelok for several years on 5 different rifles, its been ok but at times felt it was off. I was talking to a range owner the other day who is ex-Army sniper and PRS competitor. He told me to scrap Strelok because it was to inconsistent. He recommends and uses BallisticsARC. I have it downloaded and will try it out at the range when I get back out. Just playing with it the other day in the camper side by side with Strelok, there were differences in holdover between the two.
 

geocodyrgia

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Messages
64
Location
Buford, GA
I’ve seen accidentally shooting in a mirage boil push rounds almost an inch high at 400 yards. I wouldn’t base changing data on 1 shot. Fire some 3-5 shot groups and see if they’re consistently 1” high. If so, I change my muzzle velocity to adjust drop info.
 

Jayjoe

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2020
Messages
14
Location
canada
Next weekend I am going to stretch it out to 800 yards and see what the results are as long as the weather warms up some.
 

Primary

LRH Assistant
Here are some related products that LRH members are talking about. Clicking on a product will take you to LRH’s partner, Primary, where you can find links to LRH discussions about these products.

 
 
Top