Stock Mount for Magnetospeed

Discussion in 'Rifles, Bullets, Barrels & Ballistics' started by Tyler Kemp, Mar 4, 2018.

  1. Tyler Kemp

    Tyler Kemp SPONSOR

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    I thought this piece was coming soon for a few months...mill has been busy! Anyways, many folks seemed interested so I'm anxious to hear thoughts on this stock adapter. Basically replaces the picatinny rail section of my Magneto Mount. Figured most folks would be using this with a more precision type rig, so it has a shallow Manners style radius on the bottom side.:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    MudRunner2005 likes this.
  2. can1010

    can1010 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    435
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    nice job. like the idea what is the longest barrel that it will work with ? will it also work with the sport model
     
  3. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    12,828
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    That looks awesome! I have an MSv2, does it work with all models? If I wasn't unemployed at the moment, I'd order one right now!
     
  4. Tyler Kemp

    Tyler Kemp SPONSOR

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    It will work with the bayonet around 14" from the mounting point on the stock. It's standard 3/8" stainless rod though, so you can cut your own to length very cheap.

    For Sporter/V2 an adapter we mill is required. It's pretty cheap but unfortunately those chronos have a different mounting spot.
     
    MudRunner2005 likes this.
  5. can1010

    can1010 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    435
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    14" is pretty short my 26" barrel with brake will need 20" and my 30" will need even more do you think using a 25" long rod will be a problem with flexing
     
  6. Tyler Kemp

    Tyler Kemp SPONSOR

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    It depends on the recoil level. I've tested it on my 338 Lapua Improved with a 32" barrel and a brake with success, but it's a heavy rig. As the bayonet gets hung way out there the limiting factor is being able to tighten things enough that the torque on the assembly can't move things.

    The king of 2 mile guys are running a similar, less adjustable system on really long barrels, but their rods look quite large in diameter and probably heavy.
     
  7. Tyler Kemp

    Tyler Kemp SPONSOR

    Messages:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    FYI in the picture is a 20" barrel, I've got about 8" of adjustment left on the stock assembly. It's kept that length to still be able to work with ARs and shorter chassis setups and not impede function.
     
  8. rscottb

    rscottb Active Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    I use this for myMagnospeed:

    https://mkmachining.com/product/preorder-magnetospeed-v3-picatinny-rail-mount/

    Works on all three riffles I use my Magnetospeed on and when I need more offset than Magnetospeed supplied off barrel mount adapter has.
     
  9. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    12,828
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
  10. rscottb

    rscottb Active Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Different mount, Mine does not mount to a bipod or this is unclear as to its mounting. This is why I included pictures for those who do not understand.
     
  11. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    12,828
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    I know they are different mounts, but they're made by the same company. As for mounting, the mount Tyler is showing doesn't mount using a bipod...It allows you to mount a bipod on your rifle, while utilizing the front swivel studs.
     
  12. rscottb

    rscottb Active Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Is a the bipod mounted in the photo? Is the Magnetospeed mounded also? Now gee wizz Wally, how can that be? Mine is not. What are we running a kick the helpful attempts today? I see you have nothing better to do here. Period. Clowns aver at AR15.com and better mannered that you. Now in your infinite time available you have here, go back and reread what I originally posted and leave it be.
     
  13. rscottb

    rscottb Active Member

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Lets go back to the original snark. These are not the same device, not even close to the same, mine mounts on a Picatinny rail, this mounts on a bipod or maybe a sling swivel, I do not have a sling swivel on any of my weapons, and I cannot use this.
     
  14. MudRunner2005

    MudRunner2005 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    12,828
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    I really don't think you want to get into a name calling contest. We try to keep things civilized here. But since you went there and started it...

    I read what you posted, I understand your attempt at being helpful. You also don't seem to grasp the concept that the OP (Tyler Kemp) is the guy who designed and builds BOTH mounts. He knows how they both work. We have threads about both mounts that have been around since LONG before you came here. He isn't asking for opinions on how to mount the magneto speed, he knows how they both work. And everybody knows that the picatinny version doesn't utilize a bipod, because that was his FIRST design. Some of us asked would he make one for precision rifles, and the one in the first post is what he came up with. If you don't need one like this, and you have one of the other style, why the hell did you even post in this thread in the first place?

    Now, I suggest playing nice... Being a dickhole won't make you many new friends...Regardless of what forum you join. And if you acted like a know-it-all douchebag on ARFcom, I can see why you got such a warm welcome over there, as well.