Starting to look for a pack- scabbard or no?

FrogFire7

So this is one of the first of MANY rookie questions, I'm sure. Planning my first elk trip next fall. Planning to pack in a few miles, give or take, and stay for about a week. Will have 2-3 other guys with me.

I have been looking at Eberlestock packs with a built in scabbard (team elk pack looks like a dream, but wouldn't mind cutting a little cost since this is going to be used infrequently, unfortunately).

Who's got experience with these style packs? Are they worth it? Seems super convenient to me, but again I'm completely picturing this all in my head since I have no experience.

I also just saw this pack from Cabelas. https://www.cabelas.com/product/CAB...VF1mGCh3-RgLREAQYAiABEgJNafD_BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

Expandable to 4,000 cubic inches. I like the option to expand the pack from the frame to haul out meat.

What would you recommend as far as internal volume? 4k seems nice... I'm also planning to pack in, and use the same pack as a day pack.

Opinions welcome!

I've used several packs, including an Eberlestock with scabbard, and other sling mechanisms. The Eberlestock packs are high quality and the scabbard worked well for me, but today I use a lighter weight pack and nothing more than a sling hook or sling keeper. The link below shows one example. There are a couple others. If you don't want to hit a link, just search for "sling hook" or "sling keeper."

You'll need to decide based on your own hunting needs how big and heavy you want your pack. When I was younger, I carried bigger. As I've aged, my packs have shrunk.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00UDFIERS/?tag=lrhmag19-20

I'm a big fan of Eberlestock and I have a few of their packs.
I especially like their Mainframe system with the Transformer pack and the scabbard for the "bolt sniper rifle".
I like the flexibility of it.
I like being able to pack meat between the bag and frame.