Starting point

MikeP.338

Hello to everyone. I am new to the sport of long range hunting and I have many of the same questions as alot of new guys, is my rig a good starting point? I have a Rem 700 XCR in .338 WM topped with a basic Leupold VX3.
I know I am looking at upgrading the scope in the future but I wanted some thoughts on if the rifle itself is a good starting point for let's say 800+ yrds? That is my goal. If it is what would be the right first steps in accurizing? Possibly muzzle brake, recoil pad.. Thanks in advance.

You can use one of the muscle breaks that are sold on this site. Kirby Allen's APS break works very well on my cousin's 338 Lapua. Shawn Carlock makes some very nice breaks. For the money I would suggest the muscle break.

Tank

Thats the one I am leaning towards. I plan on giving them a call Monday or so. Hopefully it will calm the recoil some.

A muzzle brake and a recoil pad does nothing for the rifle as far as accuracy but they really help with controlling flinching in a heavy recoiling rifle and that makes you more accurate. Personally for a hunting carry rifle I don't care for brakes as the noise will tear your ears off without protection but the noise can be dealt with in the field.

You don't say how well the rifle shoots now. Have you took it to 800 yards and can you stay within 1 MOA at that range? How well does it group at 300 yards consistently? I would suggest finding a qualified rifle smith near you and have a conversation after you have shot it enough to know what you and the rifle are capable of and where you would like to go.

Yes the 338 Win Mag is a very capable 800 yard rifle. Good luck with your endeavor.