SMK at close range

Northerner

I am just getting into long range shooting and can see once I am good enough it could roll over into long range hunting. I have been looking at a lot of information and see the SMK gets a lot of press from long range hunters. Sierra says this is not a hunting bullet. Watching videos of long shots it will put down animals from a long way off, but what does it do if you come across an elk at 50 yards?

I currently shoot a 300RUM and have some 210gr Berger VLD Hunting bullets. I would also like to know if these are going to work close up as well.

One of my hunting partners shoots a 340 Weatherby and he is interested in the 300gr SMK, but as we are meat hunters, we don't just look in the big canyons, we hunt the tops and have shot elk at under 100 yards. We carry the same rifle in the woods as in the canyons so the question of close shots is important.

Thanks,

I am just getting into long range shooting and can see once I am good enough it could roll over into long range hunting. I have been looking at a lot of information and see the SMK gets a lot of press from long range hunters. Sierra says this is not a hunting bullet. Watching videos of long shots it will put down animals from a long way off, but what does it do if you come across an elk at 50 yards?

I currently shoot a 300RUM and have some 210gr Berger VLD Hunting bullets. I would also like to know if these are going to work close up as well.

One of my hunting partners shoots a 340 Weatherby and he is interested in the 300gr SMK, but as we are meat hunters, we don't just look in the big canyons, we hunt the tops and have shot elk at under 100 yards. We carry the same rifle in the woods as in the canyons so the question of close shots is important.

Thanks,
Depends on the game.

I would say definitely no to both on Dense bodied/heavy boned game like big hogs and elk with MV's above 2800 at ranges under 400yds because they will tend to blow up.