Sierra Match King Vs Game

7mmRemMag

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum, but have been hunting for over 17 years. I have been reloading now for a couple years for most of my rifles. I recently decide to try a 150gr. Sierra Match King for my Rem 700 7mm Rem Mag. The accuracy is incredable. My friend who intruduced me to this forum filled me in on the pros and cons concerning the match king bullet when used for hunting. I would like to fill you all in with my experience.

So far I have killed 3 Bucks, Two Coyotes, One Javelina. My sister shot a buck with my rifle as well. All the shots were about 110 yards or so, exept the coyote at 260 yards and the javelina at about 200 yards. All the animals had an enterance and exit wound, with the exit wound fairly large. The bullet blew out a chunk of lung from the buck I shot yesterday and the exit on the coyote did the same. Bottom line I am impressed with the results I have had so far. I am curious if some one else has hand loaded the SMK in 7mm Rem Mag and any experience using them, because I plan on starting to shoot Long Range with this combination.

Thanks- Jay

Jay,

I have shot several elk and deer using a 168 smk from a 7mm rem mag and from distances of 25-300+ yards and have good luck in general from this combo. I noticed some rather large exit wounds on a few of the critters, but had good expansion etc....hope this helps the only thing I ever shot at a real long range was a coyote at 650 and they worked real well on him!

I am currently shooting a 308 at this time and killed an elk and a deer this year with the 168 smks and had good performance on both animals..I am gonna try the berger vlds though as they have a higher bc and I have heard nothing, but good reports on them.

Jordan

Sooner or later the SMK will loose enough velocity to reliably and predictably expand. They typically work great to a point and then pencil through at longer ranges unless you hit bone. Then kiss alot of meat good bye.