Should I crimp my .243 hunting bullets?

timotheius

I am brand new to reloading and need a little help. I am about to crank out my first batch of hand loaded rounds ever. I have the cases cleaned, sized, and prepped. I am now ready to prime, add powder, and seat a bullet. However, I am not sure whether I should crimp my bullets or not.

I am loading for a Tikka T3 .243. I bought two different bullets to try: 85 gn Sierra Gameking HPBT, and 100 gn Sierra Pro Hunter SP. Neither of these bullets have a cannelure. I am trying to load rounds that will be "highly accurate hunting rounds." Will be trying Varget and IMR-4064 powders.

If I don't crimp, will seating depth change on my rounds as they are in the magazine of my gun or loaded into the chamber from the detachable magazine? What about if I keep 4 or 5 extras in my pocket while hunting? Will that bump them out of whack? How easily will these bullets move around in the neck? And....is crimping bullets without a cannelure something you really shouldn't do anyway? Thanks for your help.

No need to crimp in a bolt gun. I worried about that same thing when I first started. I throw them in my pocket, in the cup holder, all over the place with no problems. I always measure them when I get home to see if they change, and they never do. I'm loading my bullets almost to the lands too. In fact when I worked up a round for my rifle, I had several loads made with gradual increases in powder trying to find my max load. Once I found my max load, I still had 4-5 rounds left over that had too much powder in them for me to use. I didn't have a bullet puller at the time, so I used a pair of pliers (I DO NOT recomend this one bit for the record. I was being stupid, and have since bought the correct tool). To my surprise it took a great deal of force to pull the bullets from the brass. I would say that you are fine as long as you don't completely abuse them. My 2 cents. :D