Should I Consider a Ballistic Turret System?

RockyMtnHigh

I am a complete novice with respect to long range shooting, although I have hunted my entire life. I'm trying to sort through the noise with respect to rifle scopes on what will be my first dedicated long range rifle.

I've spent lots of time researching optics including reticle type based on aiming methodology, but one thing that repeatedly comes up that I don't completely understand is the newer scopes that incorporate a "ballistic turret."

Before I buy dedicated equipment, I want to decide what aiming methodology (MOA or Mil-Dot) I should learn (and hopefully master eventually). Realizing I have no background in either methodology, what are the pros and cons of each and is a ballistic turret of any value to someone like myself?

I will be hunting the open, rugged country of the Colorado and Wyoming mountains after I spend a lot of time training and practicing at the range.

Thanks for your help.

Ballistic turrets are quick and easy, but have limitations. As the distance of the shot increases the efects of altitude, ambient temerature and other field conditions affect the trajectory of the bullet. These affects are tollerable out to a distance but become a probablem as the errors increase with range. Seperate turrets can be made for different elevation and temps but soon becomes (IMO) more trouble than it is worth. On a large cal magnum I try to limit use of a ballistic turret to 700 yards, and less wth smaller cals. I feel I will always have time to use a program to put me spot on from these long distances, if the game is moving and I dont have time I would probably not have taken the shot anyway.