Shot placement with long range bullets?

hmbleservant

Where do yall aim on whitetailed deer sized game while using bullets like berger vld (hunting bullets) ect.

broadside: I've heard high lung (or mid body) vertically and centered to lung horizontally. Are you aiming to minimize meat damage and maximize penetration? Or are you aiming to simply increase your odds of vitals by centering on the lungs alltogether?

Is there a spot that produces more instant drops than another?

Also, for those that use the VLD's are you getting full pass thru or not?

Will these bullets penetrate shoulders easily at extended ranges?

I'm new to the longrange stuff. I've always hunted 100 yards and under and usually take the neck shot at those ranges to save meat. But I've seen some vid's of folks dropping animals in there tracks at hundreds of yards range (with chest shots or spine shots i don't know).

im shooting a 25-06 incase that matters (115gr VLD soon)

Thanks everyone

I personally like a high shoulder/lung/spine shot when possible. I don't worry about DRT kills as much as "dead near there" kills, at extended range i figure my odds are best when taking shoulder, lungs, or spine. I don't relish the thought of humping it across a couple of ravines only to find a blood trail rather than a dead animal. Its pretty hard for deer to go to far with a broken shoulder or spine. I shoot for these vitals regardless of bullet selection.

I've used a 25-06 for many years now. Favorite long range deer/antelope bullet so far has been the 115 Nosler Ballistic Tip. Furthest kill has been 550+ yds. Many 300-450 yd kills. I always aim for lungs.