Setting Scope Back to Zero

xAsylum

I am new to long range shooting, and I was curious about setting your scope back to your 100 yard zero after you have used your turrets to adjust it to a farther yardage, let's say 600 yards for the sake of the thread.

I am using a Millet TRS-1 4-16x

31vKPbKBqAL.jpg%5C

For me, I would dial it up 10.2MOA or 41 clicks. After the shot I would turn it back down 41 clicks to exactly where it was before any elevation adjustment was made.

There are scope with "zero stops". They basically do the same thing in different ways. They will only let adjust your elevation so low(your zero). Some will let you pass your zero by no more than a full revolution and then you have to adjust it to "0". Some scopes you can tell how many revolutions you have "spun up". You can then watch until you have "spun down" to your zero. Some scope have no zero stops or markings for number of revolutions. Some scope you can "pencil" in marks for your zero. I am not familiar with the Millet scope. Maybe some one else has one and can help.

"The tactical turetts are awsome they reset to zero every time" This is what confuses me. Is there some way to reset it back to your zero after you adjusted it out to a different range? New with using turrets on scopes so I have no idea.

I would assume that quote is some one who is describing how well and consistant the scope tracks. I understand it as they dialed up for a shot and dialed back down. Once they were dialed down they rechecked zero and it was still on. I did read the Millet owners manual about the turret locks. It sound like a ring below the turret than can be tightened against the turret to prevent it from moving unintentionaly. As far as I know there isn't a "reset button" or something similar that will quickly bring your scope back to zero on any scope.

oh okay. so basically, lets say I move it up 56 clicks. I would just move it back 56 clicks in the opposite direction to move it back to zero, right?