Scope suggestions

Buccaneerfan

I am looking for a scope to use for my 7mm-08 browning a-bolt. I am going to use it as an all-around scope- deer, prairie dogs, and competition. I am just getting started and would like to spend around $400-500. I know that this is probably not enough to get anything great but I think I would like something that has a magnification of at least 14 and something like a mil dot reticle for me to use. What have you guys had good luck with?

Haven't bought a $500 scope yet, but I can attest to Vortex's excellent customer service. Recently bought a crossfire and it was "blurry". Called Vortex and they said send it back. Had a new one in less than a week. I shoot out to 1000yd at groundhogs here in Pa. A friend has a Bushnell Elite 1600 and looking out at 1000yd. his is definitely a "little" clearer. If your not shooting over 400yd. spending the extra money may not be necessary. You will definitely get a clearer view for the money though. If you have it to spend, I don't think you will regret spending it. I'm surprised you haven't gotten more response to your thread. Several good options in this price range. I've looked into them, but just haven't bought one so I will let opinions to those who have personal experience. Good luck!

kdvarmint.

I looked through a Vortex Viper PST a little while ago and gotta say I'm impressed with the glass. It looks good and the EBR1 is nice. Vortex doesn't publish their twilight factor, but I wonder how it does in low light conditions...

If I were you I'd look at a Vortex Viper for your price range.

Vortex Optics - Viper 6.5-20x50 PA Mil Dot Reticle

Only thing I don't like is it has a mil reticle with MOA adjustments. That's just senseless IMHO.

Add a little money and I'd definitely go for the PST version with EBR1 and 1/10 mil click value. Again, MHO. Good luck with whatever you get!