Savage type barrel nut on CZ action / swich barrels

Romeyo

Hi Folks!

I'm planning on rebarreling a older CZ rifle ( 550s parent model, from 1987... as old as I am ^^) with a lothar walther barrel in 6,5-08/.260Rem.
Most of the work I'm going to do myself, including shaping the blank, cutting threads, tuning headspace and so on...
I'm studying precision engineering which is somhow familiar to gunsmithing and got my own lathe.

The rifle is currently chambered in .243 Win so swichtching to any caliber within the .308 family should be quite quite easy, shoulnd't it?

I thought of doing the barrel attachment similar to how it's done on Savages.

So I'm basically going to thread the first inch or more of the barrel, screw it in until it screws against the inner action's face, screw on the barrel nut an screw the nut against the outer action's face.

Finetuning of headspace could be done by turning of thou's of the chambers/barrels face or by reaming the chamber deeper. Of course I would prefer the first technique because of not needing a chamber reamer then.
Are Forster's headspace gauges any good or do you have any other recommendations? Is it also worth the afford spending more attention on tuning tuning headspace than simply checking if headspace is "within go and no-go" ? I started wondering since I saw those gauges are aviable in 1/1000" increments.

Is there anyting I have not thought of, or anybody that thinks that's not a good idea, for whatever reason?

Would an savage action have an (serious) advantage over what I've planned? Apart from their ability to change bolt heads for even more flexible caliber switching...

thanks in advance!

regards

PS: Feel free to correct any grammar or spelling mistakes since english isn't my mother tongue ;-)

Last edited:
Well I thought your question was good and merited an answer...at least in six weeks...