Savage 338 Lapua?

steve4102

A buddy of mine is looking for a long range Elk rifle. He would like a 338 Lapua, but doesn't have a ton of money. He asked me about the Savage 338 Lapua. I have no experience with this cartridge or rifle, so I came to the guys that do.
What do you think about the Savage as far as accuracy and long range hunting? What kind of accuracy can be expected at 500 to 1000 yards?

Thanks

I am awaiting delivery of the HS. Have a few buddies that have them, and kept up on the posts on this site pretty well stating performance. All three models that are available from Savage have generally been able to produce .5MOA or better at long range with 300 gr. Bergers or SMK's, which was my criteria. Appears to be a good value for the money.

My dad has the Hs precision model and we are getting groups easily under .5 Moa at 100 yards with the Barnes 280 grain LRX, Retumbo, Fed 215 magnum match primers, and Lapua brass. Our best group to date is .277 ctc. We are going to stretch her legs out sometime next week if the weather cooperates. PS- Tell him not to waist his time with factory hornady ammo because the brass is too soft.

That is some impressive shooting based on the fact that the diameter of the bullet is .338 are you shooting 5 round groups?? what kind of rest are you shooting from?

I had a HS savage 338 lapua and had pressure problems with the chamber being under cut and cases sticking, by the time I got the pressures down the velocity was well below average. I choose to send it off and have it rebarrelled it now shoots sub .5 moa routinly with a brux 30" stainless match grade tube.

If I had it to do again I would have just saved and had a custom made to begin with. JMHO

Mine was accurate, but the pressure issues scared the hell out of me and I told savage so like I said in order to get safe pressures I had to reduce my load to the point where the velocity was terribly low.