sako s20 300 win

t.a.p

I was trying to see if there were any reports out there on the accuracy of the Sako s20 in 300 win.

I have been shooting and hunting with my trg42 for almost 17 years now. It shoots 250 gr factory lapua scenars sub 1/2 moa with every 3 shot group to 1300 yards and I simply haven't been able to find a replacement rifle for it.

I've bought $7000 customs from weaver in colo springs, christensen, a few high end local customs in texas and many factory "shooters" over the years. None have impressed me and I ended up selling every single one for a loss within 6 months of receiving them.

Im in my mid 40's and have several broken discs in my back. Its getting harder and harder to tote around that 20lb trg on my pack hunts. Lets just say I desperately need a replacement. I love the forgiveness of my 338 lm when the wind gets me at long range since the sheer power of the scenar drops elk at 1300 yards with a far back shot.

For that reason I will never shoot a 6.5 or the lower end energy guns. however, I can load the 300 win to help me take kudu type game in some of the free range open areas I hunt in Africa out to 1000 yds. Yes, I wont shoot game over 1000 yards with a 300 win as my ballistic energy requirements I give myself don't let me take a shot unless I feel I can catch the same wind with the next shot and put the animal down. Some may ridicule my ethics but I have a solid long distance track record.

My only problem is that I'm tired of buying these guns, spending a few grand trying to work up a load, and then find out it struggles to hit 3/4 moa with the consistency I desire.

If I can find a load that religiously shoots 3/4 moa to 1k in the 300 win I would move to that platform quickly. I do believe the only build that might do it is a sako build. I've been shooting long range for a loooooong time and am at my witts end on all these custom builds. I just don't trust customs any more. Or maybe my TRG 42 in 338 lm has spoiled me. Who knows.