Votes: 5 38.5%
  • 338 RUM

Votes: 7 53.8%
  • 7mm RUM

Votes: 1 7.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

gphil

I am new to long range shooting and would like to become proficient out to 400-500 yards on elk deer and black bear. I live in northen idaho so the terrain varies alot from thick timber to open glades and clearcuts. I often encounter shots from 20-500 yards on game. I just bought a remington xcr 338 win mag its totally stock and has a 26 in barrel, and i am shooting hornady 225 sst's propelled by 70 grains IMR 4350 roughly going 2800-3000fps. for optics I have a nikon monarch 4-16-42. Is this setup adequate to take game out to 500 yards if I do my part? I was also looking at getting a stock somewhere in the $300 range and I was wondering if a tactial style stock with the vertical grip would help improve accuracy. Whats the science behind it? does it cause for you to have a better more comfortable grip from the prone position, and how are they to shoot offhand because I encounter short range shots too.

Thanks for the help i need all i can get!

Sounds like a nice rifle. You have more than enough power for your intended use.

I would advise against a stock with a vertical grip for shooting off hand. Sure it can be done but why, and they are more often than not heavy. I have used a few diffrent stocks in my short time in this game. What I have found works for me is over built and modified sporter style stocks.

HS precsion, Manners MCST, McMillan Hunter etc all suit my style very well and can be shot from the standing position quite well. Most of the time a stock up grade is going to improve accuracy. Something else you may want to look into is a accurcy job from one of the smiths here.

Last edited:
At only 500yds, any of those calibers will do just fine (as will your current rifle).

The 7Rum will have less recoil and shoot a little flatter, with a fast twist and heavy bullets, it's a nice cartridge.