RIFLE SETUP FOR LOAD DEVELOPMENT

I've never understood the bipod loading concerns.
I know surface hardness and friction affects results, but I shoot free recoil even off bipods(incl rear monopod), and this has always produced results for me just as good as benchrest.

I'm not disputing a loading method. Just don't understand the function of it, or detriment folks see without it.

In my case, I started my long range shooting with the FCSA 50 caliber 1000 yard matches years ago. In later years (at 60) I took my first long range classes and instruction using a 338 Lapua, the instructor said that I would never make it thru 400 rounds in three days! I finished top of the class. I am not an expert, but I do know loading the bipod helps controls recoil and bounce and when shooting quantities of heavy loads it helps me make it through. Either way will work for accuracy, it is consistent application of the method that counts. Free recoiling a 50 caliber could get a bit exciting though.

Sounds like you mean heavy shouldering for large cartridges helps you make it through. And I can buy that.
But on function, as applied to a rest, benchrest bags are not loaded, so why would a bipod be?
What are you actually doing with a rest?

With a Harris(a std bipod), the last thing anyone should do IMO is change free state angles(with fore/aft pressure to legs). Doing so would set up a condition where variance of loading, which absolutely occurs on firing, would change rest angles through the shot.
You know what kind of a bench rest does something like that? I don't.

I'm wondering if a bipod resisting forward movement simply allows you to get more shouldering force than you could get otherwise.
If so, it's not a special thing that we must all do.

Sounds like you mean heavy shouldering for large cartridges helps you make it through. And I can buy that.
But on function, as applied to a rest, benchrest bags are not loaded, so why would a bipod be?
What are you actually doing with a rest?