Replacing my Tac15i Stock - How?

skidrow802

Greetings! I am new to this board. I'm also new to owning a Tac15i. Not new to crossbow hunting (I've hunted whitetails for 4 yrs with an Excalibur Exomax and killed 4 respectable bucks). I Just recently purchased a Tac15i from Len and after shooting 100+ shots, I could not find a comfortable position where I could consistently shoulder the crossbow and have my scope come up with clarity. (I should mention I have a longer than average arm length). So I decided to buy a MAKO aftermarket AR15 Replacement Stock- It has a cheek riser and I think it may be of help with my anchor point. Now, here is my problem: It looks like you need a specific spanner-type wrench to remove the butt of the stock. It's threaded into the receiver but it's locked in place by a ring. Does anyone know what I need for a tool to remove the stock? Any help is much appreciated!

Do you own a TAC15 or TAC15i? The TAC15 is the model designed to be interchangeable with an AR15 lower. The TAC15i has a proprietary, integrated stock and will not simply interchange with an AR lower.

I have the Tac15i. It appears the stock is removable but I am not about to find out it isn't unless I know for sure. Thanks

Hi Skidrow802,
I had exactly the same problem back when I bought my TAC15i. I solved the problem in two ways. The first thing I did was to purchase an extended AR15 Buttstock with a six position tube to get some extra distance between my shoulder and the stock. Secondly, I swapped out the stock Accushot 3X - 12X power scope for the same unit except in a compact version from Leaper's.

The stock scope uses a long eye relief (4.5") and therefore puts your head to far back on the stock. The compact version is only 10.5" long and uses a standard 3" eye relief, so it's much more balanced to these crossbows.