Remington 788 in 22/250 cal.

I've owned several. Now have .223, 22-250, .243, 7mm-08. Glass bed & change trigger to a timmney. Fast lock time! Used to be able to pick them up for $100. to $150. I had to give $375. for the last one. I have no trouble getting them to do 3 shot .250 most of the time. Buy it!

Great gun I was given one when I was 15 years old by my father as my first gun. I shot that thing at everything that moved and lots that didn't. I could hit any thing running or stopped off hand out to 300 yards. I shot it for about 15 years then I kind of move on to other things. A few years back I started shooting again and took it out to the field to see if I could still shoot it. Well I could still hit the odd thing with it but the barrel had been shot out very badly. Back when I was kid we just shot we never even thought about barrel life.
I took the gun and had it rebarreled and chambered to a 22-250 A.I. It was like having a old friend from my youth back with me it just flat out would shoot. I guess maybe I am not totally objective when it comes to a 788 22-250 but I have to say I just love that gun and after having one for close to 35 years now I would buy another in a heart beat if I had the chance. (as long my wife didn't find out).

I'm shooting one that I really want to redo to a 22-250AI but it shoots to good.
55gr rem soft points never go over .5 if I'm shooting half way decent. I haven't done the trigger yet but that is one point that could really help. The magazine limits some of my loads but if I stick to the one load everything is cool.
1-14 twist is kinda slow, 55gr is about as big as mine will shoot. I love it though. Grandpa used it to cull deer with for years and used it for years on elk, I've used it 15 years on deer and coyotes and I just can't get the barrel worn out enough to justify a new one. I say pull the trigger!gun)