Rem 700/300 wthby rebarrel

oldno7

My 700 is from Remington custom shop(if that even matters)
It is chambered in 300 Roy. I want to re barrel and gear the barrel to
215gr. Bergers.
I'm guessing I need to go 1/10 twist, likely 26" as I intend to hunt with it as
well as target shoot out to 1000yds and beyond if the gun and more so myself are capable.
The current barrel has .495 freebore and has been a nightmare to develop a load for,
what freebore is recommended for the 215 Berger in a Wthby chamber?
Was looking at a Bartlein in a 3B sporter, any thoughts?
I've been reloading for 35+ years, so I do intend to only shoot reloads out of it, so
being unable to chamber factory rounds is not important to me--accuracy is!
Any thoughts and directions are greatly appreciated.

My thoughts...

I have a new 30 caliber Wildcat, I'm waiting on the stock. It has about the same powder capacity as a 300 Weatherby. My intention is to use either a 215 or 230 gr bullet. I don't know what the recommended free bore is but I had my reamer ground with .361" of free bore. My barrel is 26 inches long has a 9.5" twist. If I could do it over, I would get a 9" twist.

Thanks Edd

Your input on freebore is helpful.
I was set on the 1:10, do you think more spin would be needed for the 215?

You can go to the Berger website and play with their spin calculator. The temperature and altitude where you hunt will have a big effect on the twist you need. But as I previously said, if I could do mine over, I would order a 9" twist.

I sent off an e-mail to Berger about the same time I posted here, this was their response,
I hope it may benefit others as well. I never considered sub-sonic flight but at ELR it would certainly come into play. This was likely Edd's point as well.

(response)