Reloading with fillers to control powder position

Topaz454

In the "old days" ... now I'm dating myself... fillers were used to keep powder against primer flash to better control inconsistency. Cream of wheat? Kapoc- don't have any of that anymore.

Any comment on using fillers to control powder position versus trying to find a powder that fills the case AND works with you rifle and bullet selection?

Wasnt the reason that methods like that were used was because there wasnt as many powders available, nor burn rates. So that was something used as a work around?

If we fill a case with something that doesnt go boom, shouldn't we just shoot a smaller cartridge?

I have no first hand knowledge of this, just remember my uncle talking about that process when I was a kid who was hooked on gun powder in the 80's.

versus trying to find a powder that fills the case AND works with you rifle and bullet selection?

You answered your own question really.

Imo you should try to use a powder with enough bulk density to form a safe working load.
Any charge that is in a modern manual will achieve this.

Slower powders are bulkier, faster powders less so if you intend to use projectiles on the heaviest side I try to use a powder that will allow enough room for it to be seated into the case(so avoiding heavily compressed loads).

There is also phenomenon called secondary explosive effect where using well below minimum loads especially with slow powders can produce 2 detonations, not good for you or the rifle!

Also I think cream of wheat was used mainly to fire form cases, not really to take up the empty space in a cases.

Last edited:
Wasnt the reason that methods like that were used was because there wasnt as many powders available, nor burn rates. So that was something used as a work around?

If we fill a case with something that doesnt go boom, shouldn't we just shoot a smaller cartridge?