Reloading Help....300 WSM

Ranger260

Reloading advice needed: I am new to reloading and made an error. I was doing load development for my .300 WSM last night and used a magnum primer in a recipe that called for a large rifle primer. Being a "magnum" and seeing several recipes showing a magnum primer, I didn't catch that this recipe switched to a large rifle primer. I reloaded from starting to max load using the recipe for 180 Trophy Bonded Tipped, H4350 and CCI Magnum Large Rifle [substituted for Fed. Primers listed] on the Federal website in the Load Recipe section. Is my effort salvageable, or do I need to scrap it and start over? Would using a magnum primer be dangerous with this recipe?

You should be fine. I have a 300 WSM and only used Magnum primers. Some others that have this caliber claim they get better results using just a large rifle primer and not the magnum. Unless you are waaayyy over the max published load for the recipe, I wouldn't worry about it. Plus, shoot the loads from starting to max and see if any signs of pressure show up when you get around the max load. You need to do that for any load you're working up, so you'll find out if the magnum primer makes any difference

You should be fine. I have a 300 WSM and only used Magnum primers. Some others that have this caliber claim they get better results using just a large rifle primer and not the magnum. Unless you are waaayyy over the max published load for the recipe, I wouldn't worry about it. Plus, shoot the loads from starting to max and see if any signs of pressure show up when you get around the max load. You need to do that for any load you're working up, so you'll find out if the magnum primer makes any difference