RCBS Die Adjustment

Tumbleweed

Hi guys, I've been reloading for several years now and have used standard RCBS sizing and seating dies. I have always just set them up (adjusted the body jam nut) according to the instructions and just went with it, never had any problems or accuracy issues. My question is can I adjust the large jam nut on the sizing die base to allow me to bump the shoulder .002 and neck size rather than completely sizing the brass? Also, what tool will I need to measure the shoulder to monitor my progress? This is 300RUM N/C brass and 210VLD's.

Yes, you can bump with the sizer die. Tools for measuring bump are the Hornady L&L headspace guage or the Redding Instant Indicator (my preference). You must be careful to not bump it too far. On the RCBS die, loosen the lock ring and adjust it down so that the die base does not quite touch the shell holder. Check the shoulder bump both before and after you do this. If your have not moved the shoulder, turn the die down about 1/8" at a time until you do. When the guage shows the shoulder has moved about 1 or 2 thous, stop and place the empty case in your rifle. You should feel just slight resistance when the bolt is about half way down, meaning the rifle shoulder is beginning to touch the chamber shoulder. Stop there, lock the die nut in place, and you are done. (Note): It is difficult to feel the fit unless you have a bolt dissasembly tool, to remove the firing pin and spring. You can find all of these tools in the Sinclair International catalog, which is available online.

"...can I adjust the large jam nut on the sizing die base to allow me to bump the shoulder .002 and neck size rather than completely sizing the brass?"

No. You can surely 'bump' a shoulder with an FL die but it's just FL sizing done properly, it sure isn't going to be neck sizing; that's why they make neck dies.