Rangefinders beyond 1500 yards

buckbrush

I've been shooting an Edge for over two years and have close to 800 rounds through it. The gun shoots so well that 1000 yards seems like a gimme and 1500 yards is becoming less challenging as well.

I now use a Zeiss PRF that replaced my Leica 1200. The Zeiss will consistently range big rocks to 1300 yards and 1500 in good conditions so it performs a little better than the Leica did however I seem to have grown out of it.

What is the next step up for rangefinders? I'd like something that could take me to 2000 yards. I've heard that the Newcon 3000 is good for rangefinding ability with only fair glass. I'm not concerned with glass quality nearly as much as rangefinding ability. I will keep the Zeiss for hunting purposes. I know the Vectronix products are phenomenal but I just don't see being able to fork out that kind of money as an option anytime soon. I have done a lot of searching on the Newcon products and can't really seem to obtain enough information to make a decision.

Any other options out there that are under or close to $1500.00?

Thanks.

I had a Newcon and sent it back after 2 days, I would range out to and beyond 1500 yards but it was just a pretty junky/plasticy unit. Battery life is pretty short in them as well. It may work for you to just ride around in the rig and shoot rocks but I dont think you would want to take it hunting. I also didnt like the display it was like the old Bushnells.

I run a Newcon 3000 Pro and although the glass is only mediocre, it does have the ability to range considerably further that the Swaro's. If you can find a pair used you might be able to pick theem up in your price range. Listed below are the pros and cons based on my experience

Pros
1) range further than Swaro's
2) veer consistent and accurate range readings

Cons
1) very heavy.. Not something you want to carry around all day around your neck
2) glass is just average