Rangefinders and Wind Adjustments

treillw

I'm just getting into long range shooting. I've hunted for about 15 years and have been shooting for longer than that, but I never really shot much past 100 yards. I have a different thread helping me decide which rifle to purchase, where I have gotten lots of useful information.

What I'm wondering now is once I have "the perfect rifle", what is the best method of making adjustments for range, wind, etc. Currently I'm thinking of getting a scope with adjustable turrets. I haven't done a ton of research, but the G7 BR2 range finder seems like it would be a great tool to have. Would this measure everything that needs to be measured for making corrections? I'm not too sure how it does the wind corrections. Any other suggestions on products that are proven to work well?

Thanks!

The G7 is great but youll need another device like a Kestral to measure wind. Youll input the wind stats into the G7. Your other option is to get a normal range finder and use an App on a smartphone for your ballistics data.

Make sure whatever scope you get has a reticle that matches the turrets. I prefer Mil/Mil but there are plenty of people that use Moa/Moa also. Just stay away from a Mil reticle with Moa turrets, which seem to be popular for some reason.

Hope this helps.

The G7 works well. I just received the new version for myself after doing some field testing with a demo they sent me. The G7 gives you wind corrections for ever 5mph full value wind up to I think 35mph. So you would only need a simple wind meter to measure the wind and find the corresponding wind correction and it gives you the scope data to apply for the shot or to hold off for.

The g7 is a great tool. However, it is big, heavy, and you still need a wind meter. I use the Kestrel 4500AB and the Leica 1600. This gives you a more accurate solution at a lesser price. They are small and will fit in your shirt pockets. They are also handy and fun to take anytime your outdoors.