Rabbit Hunting Technique?

Stanm70

Hello I am relatively new to the hunting world and my first trials were in the Long range sub category. I never really got a chance as a child to hunt rabbits so I was wondering what would be a good technique for hunting them? I live in NE Kansas I have access to plenty of land but I can never seem to spot a bunnie when I have my .22. Any suggestions?

Stop and go. Don't move too fast lest the bunnies freeze up and let you walk right past them. Slow and erratic makes them nervous and they'll break more often. When they break, watch where they stop - and they will.

Turn around often and watch your six, you'll be surprised how many rabbits will break behind you after you pass.

Watch sloped southern exposures especially along two-tracks or defined vegetation patches. Rock piles are popular warrens. On steeper slopes pay close attention to areas just below the ridge line.

Binoculars are just as effective for bunny huntin' as they are for big game. With practice you'll become an accomplished spotter of all things long of ear. When you spot one, approach indirectly.

Last two hours of daylight is the magic time.

Rabbit hunting is terribly addicting. You've been warned :D

Try this. Walk away from the sun. So go out either early in the morning as the sun is rising or late afternoon as it's setting. Keep the sun at your back and just like the above post states, walk slow and stop, often. Turn around every now and then. Keep walking with the sun at your back. If he's in front of you the sun will **** near blind him and you can get pretty close. I shot one the other day at about 0830, sun at my back, in his eyes and got about 10 yds away before I shot him.